Get current time on asterisk server through ARI

Hi! I wonder if there’s any way (or at least a workaround) to retrieve current time on some asterisk server using ARI.

I am not aware that there is a specific command and I think not even the cli has one (except !date). It’s also not a primary task of a pbx to supply the current time. There are various ways to query the operating system. I think the general approach would be to synchronize every device with a time server. The accuracy should be about 1ms or a little more. So the answer would be: check any device.

That said, I think every Stasis App has timestamps and one can evaluate them.

My only thought is trying to set the value of a variable using System to call the linux date application.

Could you please elaborate on that? I’m new to this, and clarification would be very helpful. I’m in progress of writing a golang app that communicates with asterisk servers via asterisk rest interface provided by this library

Guys, thank you all very much. I finally found a solution to this problem. As it turned out, ARI does offer a way to retrieve current time from asterisk server by pinging it. For more information, follow this link

That’s not really meant for getting the time. It’s just a consequence of the protocol itself, as @EkFudrek mentioned.

I made an incorrect assumption about how dialplan works in this case.

That being said; I found the variable that can be made to return time from the server properly rather than relying on ping.

exten = 24,1,NoOp(Variable Test)
same = n,Set(t=${STRFTIME(${EPOCH},,%Y%m%d-%H%M%S)})
same = n,NoOp(${t})
    -- Executing [24@6423:1] NoOp("PJSIP/6423-0000001a", "Variable Test") in new stack
    -- Executing [24@6423:2] Set("PJSIP/6423-0000001a", "t=20220919-143923") in new stack
    -- Executing [24@6423:3] NoOp("PJSIP/6423-0000001a", "20220919-143923") in new stack