Endpoints being called are intermittently not responding to INVITE

Hey there, I’ve been banging away at this server for a few days now, and this is the one issue I just can’t seem to make any ground on. I’m no expert on Asterisk or sip, so I’m hoping either it’s something silly that I’m overlooking, or that someone can offer me new directions to look in. Thanks so much for any help you can offer. I’ve reached the current limits of my expertise on this one :slight_smile:

Problem

Endpoints intermittently don’t respond to INVITE when called. When this happens, the server just keeps sending INVITE to the receiving endpoint until the caller is eventually directed to voicemail. Everything works as expected on the initiating device. I don’t see any error messages in the logs or console.

Reproducing

It seems that after a contact is added or expires and is re-added, the endpoint will usually respond when called for a while. After a while, the endpoint will stop responding to INVITE again.

Setup

• Asterisk 18 running on an Ubuntu Digital Ocean droplet
  • 2 physical voip phones
  • 1 soft phone connected to a mobile network

Characteristics

• I have two physical devices and a soft phone running on a mobile phone. All are encountering this issue.
  • The issue still affects the soft phone when connected to the mobile network, so I don’t believe NAT is the issue.
  • 3 endpoints on a single physical phone, all endpoints react independently. (Sometimes 1 endpoint will respond and 2 will not)
  • pcaps of the INVITE requests to the receiving endpoint on failing calls look good. I see nothing wrong with them. Their contents appear identical to INVITE requests that were correctly responded to.

What’s working

• All interactions with the server seem to work perfectly. Interacting with the IVR, leaving voicemails, etc.
  • Outbound calling via the sip trunk works perfectly every time.

Configuration

pjsip_wizard.conf

[user_defaults](!)
type = wizard