Endpoint, AOR, Contact, Extension, ... - Entity types and their relationships

Hello,

I’m new to Asterisk and try to find out more about the terms, the concepts behind and their relationships.

Let’s say, I have this setup:

• My public phone number range is 123X with X being a “dialplan like” pattern for a digit 0-9.
  • We are 3 persons, each one gets an internal extension number, e.g. Alex (1), Ben (2) and Christine (3). From the outside, Ben could be reached via 1232.
  • Each of us has a desk phone (e.g. SNOM) and uses a softphone (e.g. Zoiper). If Alex (1) dials just 3, Christine’s both phones (desk phone AND softphone) shall ring. So Alex doesn’t have to know whether Christine is at her desk or somewhere else.
  • If someone calls 1230 from outside, I want Asterisk to dial Alex, Ben and Christine parallely, including all their phones.

I have these login accounts, each of them with a custom password:

• softphonealex → Alex (1)
  • softphoneben → Ben (2)
  • softphonechristine → Christine (3)
  • desk00e5a902d988 (derived from MAC address of device) → Alex (1)
  • desk00e5a902de96 → Ben (2)
  • desk00e5a902e032 → Christine (3)

What in this example is the “endpoint”, what is “AOR”??? and what’s the extension?

An Entity relationship model (ERM) about the Asterisk terms would be a great help!

My guess:

• 0, 1, 2 and 3 are the extensions in the dialplan.
  • softphonealex, desk00e5a902d988, … are endpoints (devices) on the one hand and login usernames (credentials) mapped to a password on the other hand.
  • What’s an AOR? And what is “max contacts” in terms of an AOR?
  • What’s a contact?

How are these concepts related to the database tables

• ps_endpoints
  • ps_auths
  • ps_aors
  • ps_contacts
  • ps_endpoint_id_ips
  • extensions == Dialplan that can be defined in database instead of config file?

Thanks a lot for education and advice!
Reg