Documentation - Dahdi and PJSIP on Asterisk 14

I’m trying to find some good up-to-date documentation for Asterisk 14, Dahdi 2.11.2 and PJSIP using ODBC on Mysql. All this on Ubuntu 16.04 LTS

In general, documentation always seems out-of-date. Although there’s a doc directory in the source files, the documentation which it generates doesn’t help much.

Although I’m using the latest versions which for Dahdi means this does not work and for PJSIP means some things work but registration is proving difficult, in the past with earlier versions things have worked. I have been using Asterisk on a test basis for a long time.

Is the only way to get any decent documentation to go on a training course? I’m not convinced I should need to.

You may say that since this is only a test system, it doesn’t matter but since I’m a consultant I get to advise clients on whether to use this package or not. From the point of view of documentation I would advise against Asterisk.

Clearly Asterisk is feature rich but if documentation does not exist to exploit those features there’s no point in having them.

I have been using Asterisk since 2007.

Have you looked at the wiki[1]? We have a ton of documentation for PJSIP[2] including examples, how to convert from SIP, and other parts. As for DAHDi it hasn’t really changed in years so any existing documentation should work.

[1] https://wiki.asterisk.org/
[2] https://wiki.asterisk.org/wiki/display/AST/Configuring+res_pjsip

1 Like

Hi,
DAHDI may not have changed for years but the documentation still isn’t good.

I’m trying to configure DAHDI, which I have been able to do in the past.

sudo dahdi_genconf gives
Missing a channel number parameter

but using -h doesn’t indicate any channel number parameter

This is pretty fundamental since the config files are not being generated and so Dahdi won’t function.