Create a "Press one to be connected to a human" dialplan to reduce robocalls

Hi - Total asterisk beginner here. I am having trouble with robocalls and I need a good strategy to reduce errant phone rings. I tried nomorobo but there are still too many calls going through. I was thinking of creating a dialplan for DID lines where the caller is asked to press #1 to be connected. What’s a good way to do this - any examples? Should I record an audio file on my local computer, and transfer to asterisk (and if so, in what format?) Lastly, for anyone who has done this before, any tried and tested phrases to say so as not to confuse the caller? Thank you!

This is not restricted to direct in dialling lines. The same solutions will work for analogue or ISDN lines with no ability to forward extra digits, and with single number VoIP accounts (even though the SIP marketplace misuses “DID” for these).

You can do the check using Playback, Read and GotoIf.

If you can’t find a suitable recording, the easiest way of creating one with telephone quality is to use Asterisk’s Record application. Ideally recordings should be in the format best corresponding to the codec in use on the leg from the caller, although .wav (lower case) containing 16 bit signed, linear, mono, little endian, 8kHz sampling, audio is generally a good starting point for all codecs. This is what you will get if you specify .wav to Record.

Thanks - Would you have a working example of what you mean by, “Playback, Read and GotoIf?” And, are there any “exceptions” that I should be handling for good practice? Thank you

A simple IVR:

exten=s,1,Answer(300)
 same=n,Background(silence/1&dir-instr)
 same=n,WaitExten(6)
exten=1,1,Dial(...