Connecting 2 servers via VPN Tunnel

Due to not being able to move my extension numbers to a new building I have been asked to create a second asterisk server and connect to my first one over a VPN tunnel to use the same extensions in the new building.

Can this be done and what would be the best way to do it. Currently we have one asterisk server.

I need the same functionality on the new server.

How are your clients connected to your Asterisk server?

Bear with me as I am new to this phone system!

We all use Linksys SPA941 phones connected to the network via ethernet cables, obtaining addresses via DHCP.

good. so if you have ip network in a new building, you can connect your phones to your unique Asterisk server.
If your ‘new’ building’s ip network is unreachable from an ‘old’ place, I would take a cisco vpn router to connect networks together. Afterwards, your phones would ‘see’ your Asterisk server in an ‘old’ place!

So I would not need 2 asterisk servers? Just connect the phones over the VPN?

Explain your ip-network topology

1. Maybe you dont need VPN :smile:
  2. You should think about bandwidth: Are you planning to have lots of calls ‘new building’<->‘new building’?

No, not lost of calls, the only reason the old asterisk server has to stay in the old building is due to the numbers we can not move.

The old network is a standard Windows 2003 server domain as will the new.

We do not have alot of bandwidth therefore the reason for 2 asterisk servers. I do not want internal calls in the new building going down the VPN tunnel to the old building and back again.

Ideally a replicated phone system (one in the old building and one in the new building so that we can keep the numbers) and then some clever routing to deal with internal calls.

The 2 sites will be connected together using a PPTP VPN.