Concecting Console to bridge (permanent) during startup

Hi all,
I’m relatively new with asterisk and want to have the following:
the local console (Alsa soundcard) shall automatically connected to a chatroom (bridge) when asterisk is starting up.
I found a solution here for startup handling https://doc.astlinux.org/userdoc:tt_ast_startup
and included

[asterisk-startup]
exten => s,1,Dial(Console/default)
exten => s,2,ConfBridge(1,default_bridge,my_user)

; Ast-Startup Dummy Extension
exten => ast-startup,1,Answer()

but the console hangs up without any error message.
Does anybody has a hint for me? Thank you very much.
Adi

Dial is the complete outgoing leg of the call, not just the dialing phase. It won’t return until the console hangs up. (However, in this case, I assume that it must be run in an h extension like environment, in which case it couldn’t use Dial,)

Whilst I’m not familiar with any mechanism to run dialplan at startup, it may have been introduced. If, as you seem to expect, it is running without a normal channel (although it would need a channel, all the same), it would need to use Originate to initiate a call involving a normal channel.

1 Like

Thanks for the reply. Please can you give me a hint what you mean with “…run in an h extension environment…”? Is it a asterisk module or some external (3rd party)?
Thank you.
Kind regards Adi

h extensions are part of the core dialplan handling. They run after the technology driver for the channel hs been shut down and therefore cannot do anything with that the technology driver such as bridging it to another channel. They can basically only manipulate CDRs and channel variables, or perform operations on explicitly named channels, and use Originate to create and start dialplan on new channels.