Complete newbie need help in understanding how this works

Hi all!
Im complete newbie when it comes to telephone systems, but i actually want to learn something new and hopefully play with it. I know that there are many cloud based services which would be cheaper for setup, but please not that i want to learn something. Money is not important as knowledge.

I will describe what im willing to build.
For start, i will have one analogue line. Next, i have enough knowledge to build web based applications and therefore i want to be able programmatically to make a call to another phone number outside my LAN network. For example i want login to my app where i have phone numbers of my friends, i will click to call button and call should be processed.
Also for example when somebody call back i want to detect that via web app and to be notified which friend calls me. If this is complicated i will be satisfied even with placing simple phone call…

After some researching i came up with some tutorials which are very confusing for me, so i just want to check if im on right track.

Is this what i need?

1. Phone with lan interface connected to FXO gateway
  2. FXO gateway connected with IP box (Asterisk)
  3. FXO gateway connected with FXS (wall jack)

If yes, when i want to initiate a call, i have to send command to Asterisk. Then Asterisk will connect to FXO gateway and FXO gateway will do all the magic (if it is configured properly).

Now: is this how is it supposed to work or am i mistaken? Can it be simpler?

Thanks!

start by reading www.asteriskdocs.org. Then go deep with AMI, ami integration with DB, php call backs and possibly webrtc