Call Forward with retry

Hello everyone,

I’m new to Asterisk, but I need to set up a simple dialplan with call forwarding after the first number doesn’t answer for 3 attempts:

This is my extention.conf

[globals]
DEST2=03391234567

[dialinternal2]
exten => 7001,1,Dial(SIP/7001)
same => n,ExecIf($["${DIALSTATUS}" != "ANSWER"]?Dial(SIP/${DEST2}@SIPtrunkCisco))
same => n,Hangup

and the call is execute from file:

Channel: local/7001@dialinternal2
Application: Playback
Data: ProblemGeneric
MaxRetries: 3
RetryTime: 60
WaitTime: 20

Now if 7001 refused the call, it’s execute a call to DEST2, but if 7001 not response for 3 attempts, it’s no execute the backup number.

Where am I doing wrong?

1. Assuming the dialplan knows anything about the state of the call file that triggered it, and/or not testing for such state.

2. Expecting the dialplan to continue on no-answer without setting a time limit on the Dial call (which needs to less than that from the call file system).

3. Using the deprecated chan_sip channel driver.

4. Testing for ANSWER without using the g option on Dial (without g, the dialplan stops immediately after Dial, for answered calls), so DIALSTATUS will never be ANSWER.

On (1), you will need to use AstDB, or global variables, to track the state of the call (I guess you could also read the call file, which I assume gets updated after each try). Although you could do the whole sequence in the dialplan, but you’d run into the time limit for call file calls.

Thanks you for thanks for the explanation, but unfortunately I don’t know asterisk well and therefore:

1. how to check the status of the call file?
  2. where do i set the time limit for the call?
  3. Where do I set the g option?

excuse my little knowledge.

I’m not sure of any official way of doing that. I guess you would have to encode the call file name into the extension and read the actual call file.