Asterisk and database questions

I’m new to Asterisk (and not very good at Linux) but willing to learn. I’m Microsoft developer by trade.

Asterisk got me interested and I’m intrigued by the capabilities and such. So far I got it running in VM and play around a little (FreePBX)

I also spent some time watching all material I can find on Asterisk. Architecture, modules, etc. Mainly I had to learn how VOIP works.

Now I got this idea and I’m not sure if it’s possible at all. Basically having phone almost free and support multi-channels.

Here is what I see… For example I need 3 channels. I also need 1 phone number which I transfer from current provider.

1. Get SIP Trunk service (paid) and transfer my phone number in.
  2. Setup 3 Google Voice accounts for free calling.
  3. Setup 4 channels in Asterisk. One for paid SIP trunk, 3 for Google Voice
  4. Setup extensions and rules with IVR but mainly make it so each extention dials out using Google Voice.

With this setup there will be no charge for making calls. If incoming calls will be made to Google Voice numbers - there will be no charge either. I will only pay for incoming minutes to paid SIP trunk number.

Does it sound right? Is there any issues with my “idea”? From what I learned about Asterisk this should be doable, “how” will be my next task. But for now I just wanted to run it by you to confirm its possible.

I also wonder how good of a quality calls come out of Google Voice? It’s all inside US

Don’t use Any GUI if you want to learn how Asterisk works.

I recommend you, don’t waste your time trying to setup Google Voice on Asterisk.

[quote]Google Sets the Date for the End of XMPP with Google Voice
Recently Google announced the end of support for XMPP based calling with Google Voice. This will happen on May 15, 2014 –[/quote]

Wow. Good that I asked. Won’t bother with Google than.