Asterisk 1.4.18 "stalls" within dialplan

Hi there,

I’m a bit new to Asterisk, yet still learning.

I build
libpri 1.4.3
zaptel 1.4.9.2
asterisk 1.4.18
asterisk add-ons 1.4.6

Been testing (or rather learning) from the following extension:-
[incoming]
exten => s,1,Answer()
exten => s,2,Wait(1)
exten => s,3,Playback(main-menu)
exten => s,4,Background(enter-ext-of-person)
exten => s,5,Waitexten(5)
exten => s,n,Goto(internal,${EXTEN},1)
exten => s,n,Hangup()

exten => i,1,Background(pbx-invalid)
exten => i,n,Goto(incoming,s,5)

exten => t,1,Goto(internal,SwitchBoard,1)

Calling the above from:-

[internal]
exten => test,1,Verbose(1|Test [incoming] extension)
exten => test,n,Goto(incoming,s,2)
exten => test,n,Hangup()

Which worked great this afternoon. :laughing: (IMHO)

Then… I ran “yum -y update” which, except for some other packages, also updated my kernel to 2.6.24.3-12.fc8

Now, when I try this extension test again, Asterisk simply “freezes” or “pauses” during execution of above extension test:- (As reflected below)

-- Executing [test@phones:1] Verbose("SIP/Wicus-007ee120", "1|Test [incoming] extension") in new stack

Test [incoming] extension
– Executing [test@phones:2] Goto(“SIP/Wicus-007ee120”, “incoming|s|2”) in new stack
– Goto (incoming,s,2)
– Executing [s@incoming:2] Wait(“SIP/Wicus-007ee120”, “1”) in new stack
– Executing [s@incoming:3] Playback(“SIP/Wicus-007ee120”, “main-menu”) in new stack
– <SIP/Wicus-007ee120> Playing ‘main-menu’ (language ‘en’)

Asterisk doesn’t play the sound NOR does it pass the Playback priority. It just “sits” there…

I have rebuild
libpri
zaptel
asterisk and
asterisk-addons
after the new kernel was installed. (and the machine rebooted of course)

Even rebooted twice after all the rebuilds. Yet, no luck to date. :frowning:

I’ve been googling around, yet can’t find any similar problem.
I think that I might be missing the correct key words… or so I currently believe. :unamused:

Calling another extension directly works fine.