When should I use SLA Trunks

Hi, I am new to Asterisk and I wanted to set up SIP Trunk. I discovered that I need a SIP provider, however in Asterisk documentation, there are SLA Trunks, but I am not sure when should I use this or what is the difference between SLA trunks and trunks from providers.

Can anyone explain it to me? Or give me some good resources to learn about this?

Asterisk does not have a concept of “a SIP trunk”. Please point us to the
documentation you have been reading which tells you about SLA trunks.

Asterisk connects to SIP peers, and whether these are telephones, single-
service connections to external providers, or “trunk” connections supporting
multiple simultaneous calls, is essentially irrelevant to Asterisk (the main
thing which differs between these is usually just the authentication method).

Perhaps it would be useful for you to tell us what you want to achieve with
Asterisk, and we can advise what you will need to do to get there.

Antony.

SLA Trunks: SLA stands for Shared Line Appearance. In Asterisk, an SLA trunk is a virtual trunk that allows multiple devices or extensions to share the same line appearance. This means that when a call comes in, multiple devices can ring simultaneously, and any of them can answer the call. SLA trunks are typically used in call center environments or situations where multiple users need to handle incoming calls simultaneously.
Trunks from Providers: Trunks from providers, also known as SIP trunks or VoIP trunks, are connections provided by a telecommunications company or SIP provider. These trunks allow you to connect your Asterisk server to the public switched telephone network (PSTN) or other VoIP networks. With SIP trunks, you can make and receive calls to and from external phone numbers, both landlines and mobile numbers, over the internet.