Weird Asterisk

Greetings,

I am a newbie in the field of Asterisk, AsterikNow,trixbox, …
I am very excited by the features, that Asterisk family can provide, but it seems also to be a very hard staff.
I need to build a test lab for VoIP (maybe AsteriskNow or trixbox) to show that designing VoIP solutions using asterisk is possible/simple/reliable and can save money, but my manager currently trusts only huge vendors like cisco , hp procurve.

I think such a system can be implemented using a server + interfacing card + Linux + … + IP phones.
But i still have many unclear questions about designing such a LAB.

My Qs:

When do i need VoIP provider ?
how shall the server be connected with users ?? how is the internal connection implemented ???
do i need more than 1 NIC card between server and users ???
FXO/FXS modules are used to connect analog phones and faxes, but how r IP phones connected to the server ?
do i need switches to provide LAN connection between VOIP server and the different users ???

i need really a simple user guide AND/OR design manual to show these steps and how to plan moe complexer designs.

I really believe, that Asterisk is good enough, but it seems, it will take years + many courses to learn the books about the potocols, config. files, dial plans and other staff. So, why not continuing with cisco or procuve … ?

I hope i get answers, that help me to use Asterisk as my first choice or at least for building simple VOIP LAB.

Regards
cedkhader

You need a VoIP provider if you wish to place phone calls over the PSTN (phone network) using your internet connection. This is a popular (and cheap) alternative to paying for physical phone lines (like the kind you may see in a house), or expensive business lines (PRIs, etc.) which can cost a large monthly cost, and also require you to purchase additional hardware for your Asterisk server.