Voicemail stutters

Hi Guys,
First off, I’ve searched the forums already but I’m a VOIP and Asterisk noob and I’m not sure what to look for.

I’ve just installed asterisknow (looked easiest :smiley: ) and I’m using softphones on my network computers. Now the softphones register fine and all that, but I try to dial 6050, or 7000, and I can barely hear the voice recording on the other end…it’s jumpy/stuttery…can’t think of how to describe it except it’s like when you’re trying to listen to music on dial-up :stuck_out_tongue: . My network speed should be fine, and I’ve tried dialing it from two different machines and I’ve used two different softphones (Ekiga and Zoiper) but it’s still the same problem…I’m not runnig any other analog or digital devices, it’s a very simple setup.

This is probably a noob problem, but I have no idea at all, any help would be greatly appreciated. :cry:

no one? :frowning:

Hi JoshuaR ,

Not sue if I can help but what happens if you call softphone to softphone or musiconhold?

Are you using a wireless network? Do you have high speed full duplex network connections for access to the Asterisk server?

If you’re using wireless, forget it… it won’t work. You have to use a wired connection when using softphones.

I’m the only person around to test it, so I can’t try softphone to softphone. I don’t know the no. for music on hold if it’s set up by default, and if it’s not then I haven’t set it up… I’ll see if I can give it a test soon softohne to softphone.

That sucks…I didn’t know voip was so bandwidth intensive. :frowning:
(I am btw using wireless)
I’ll wire a machine straight into the switch and see if that does anything.

Thanks for the replies too :smiley:

Hi Dufus,

I would agree that a hard phone and a wired connections are always preferred if available but I frequently use a few wireless connections with Zopier and Cisco hard phones and it is very acceptable.

I would like discuss this; there are two scenarios I use frequently;