Static/white noise heard during music playback

Hi,

I’m not a developer but more of a sound guy. I’m currently having problems during playback of music during a call. During playback, some parts of the music suddenly generates white noise/static. Kinda lost at how to eliminate the noise heard.

I use Adobe Audition to convert .mp3 to .alaw
Source file is usually at 44,100Hz, 24bit, normalized to -1.0dB
Format is libsndfile
Resample to 8,000Hz mono, 16bit
Format settings is Waveform Audio, a-Law 8-bit PCM
Then i just change ext name from .wav to .alaw

I cant seem to figure out why there is static/whitenoise since not all music i used has this problem.

Is there any other settings/optimal settings -e.g. compression, hard limiter, etc- i should be applying to the source file before converting?

TIA
Mark

A-law is 8 bit not 16 bit. A-law files are pure media samples, not RIFF (.wav) format files. Normally one would use 16 bit signed linear RIFF with .wav extensions, as the cost of converting them to A-law, on the fly, is low, and they are easy for Windows to handle.

Hi David,

Audition does the conversion to 8bit. I just prep the source file to be at 16bit so that it’ll be converting from a higher bit sample which is supposedly better from what i read in other audio forums. So the final properties of the converted file is 8kHz, 8bit, 64kbps. I use waveform as the format since it’s one of the few format that supports a-law/u-law encoding. It saves it as .wav but i just rename it to .alaw when i need to load it to our system.

There are other formats avaialble as shown in the screenshot attached. I tried Raw but the output is still the same.