SIP Phone/Wireless Cafe/NAT/NATCallManger/Asterisk/SIP Phone

Hi All,

am new here. Have been given a small project(study purposes for now), and am stumped. Scenario below,

Phone = SIP
Access Point = wireless cafe etc(no control over routers/nat)
CallManager = 3.0(behind NAT)
Phone = SIP

How do these two talk? How does one get around this scenario? I know that if it were a scenario where I could control everything, I could use an Asterisk/NAT/Proxy box at each point. Anyone met this before and solved it? I am still rather new to all this, and it is also an opportunity for me to learn more about VoIP/SIP/Asterisk etc. I’ve visited the voip.org site, and read the following,

voip-info.org/wiki/view/NAT+and+VOIP

sipcenter.com/sip.nsf/html/W … versal.pdf

but don’t think they relate specifically to my scenario. Any pointers?

Hi All,

trade secret, perhaps? Too vague a question? Need more info on the scenario?

I agree, some more info is required.

By the way what is CallManager 3.0 (Cisco ?)
(And why not use Asterisk ?)

By the way a sip (or iax) unit on a web cafe can talk to a Asterisk server via wired or wireless connections, have made a few tests on that.

Firewall traversal troug firewalls that normally will block for sip telephony also possible.

Pleas trade / post more about secrets :smiley:

[quote=“arne22”]I agree, some more info is required.

By the way what is CallManager 3.0 (Cisco ?)
(And why not use Asterisk ?)[/quote]

will do, if at all possible. Yes, CiscoCallManager3.4, but, would like to do away with it, if possible.

[quote]By the way a sip (or iax) unit on a web cafe can talk to a Asterisk server via wired or wireless connections, have made a few tests on that.

Firewall traversal troug firewalls that normally will block for sip telephony also possible.[/quote]

How did you get the sip to get past the NAT, if at a cafe, where you have no control of the cafe’s system(s)? Doesn’t sip data use random ports?