New installaion of asterisk

hi
i am new to asterisk and just completed the installation i have 2 issues , my configuration is as below as you can see its very simple , the problem is the quality is very poor one way, that is when i call the pstn assciated with my sip number the soft phone connected to extension 2000 rings but the quality is very poor but the person who called get clear reception from me , is this a NAT issue or a codec issue, where do i need to look to resolve this

the second issue is a configuration, if i want extension 2000 to be another sip number how do i configure it to forward all calls to 2000 to a sip number

many thanks

[general]
port = 5060
bindaddr = 0.0.0.0
context=sip
register => xxxx:pasword@sip.voipuser.org:5060/2000
register => 17470406189:password@proxy01.sipphone.com:5060/2000
musiconhold=default

[voipuser.org]
type=peer
host=10.4.50.39
fromuser=xxxx
secret=password
fromdomain=voipuser.org

[sipphone.com]
type=peer
host=10.4.50.39
fromuser=17470406189
secret=570251
fromdomain=sipphone.com

[2000]
type=friend
username=michael
secret=test
defaultip=10.4.50.26
host=dynamic
dtmfmode=rfc2833
context=sip
mailbox=100

extensions.conf

static=yes
writeprotect=yes

[sip]
exten => 2000,1,Dial(SIP/2000,20)

If you are using a standard domestic ADSL and this is shared with other applications (i.e. web browsing) this will cause quality problems because you are contending for bandwidth that is already contended at 50:1 with other users.

You could try using a low bandwidth codec. The default is probably G.711 which is high quality but uses a lot of bandwidth (for ADSL anyway). G.729 is good but needs a license from Digium to work (costs $10.00). You could try GSM as a test by adding:

disallow=all
allow=gsm

to the definition in sip.conf for the SIP phone extension.

Find out which codecs the sip provider will support as you could try G.723 if they support this as it’s better quality and GSM and uses fairly low bandwidth.

Also add: