Many questions

Scope
I am also very new to VoIP and stuff. Company has entrusted me to seek for a cheaper/free solution(s) to call overseas fixed land lines and even cell phone lines.

Overview
We have a total of 6 sales persons making alot of trunk calls to every part of asia and europe, fixed land lines and cell phones.

I do have a P4 2.8Ghz, 1GB DDRam, 80GB HDD, built-in 6 channel sound card(realtek chipset), running Fedora Core 3 which is the router for our internet and intranet(surfing the net and for emails). It is connected to a DSL modem and of cos a dedicated fixed land line. This ASDL line is a 1500/384kbps.

Enquiries
1)Is it possible to dial trunk calls to fixed line/cell phone? If yes, what hardware(s) do i need? Will there be any cost to place this type of calls?
2)Can I use back the dedicated fixed line for this setup?
3)What other type(s) of hardware do i need to get for the sales persons?
4)Will the above hardware configuration suitable for this purpose?

Thanks and please expect more questions from me.

I believe the people you are calling over seas either need to have a VoIP server of their own, or be on a VoIP server provider of some sort in order for you to save any money on long distance.

As far as cell phones go, you would probably have to call your local asterisk server, and then be patched thru over seas. So in actuallity, the cellphone users would be talking to the server, which would in turn be talking to the people in asia.

first, welcome to asterisk :smile: I assume by ‘trunk calls’ you mean long distance.

you want a few things (here is what they are called)

VoIP termination (outgoing calls). You want to use an internet telephony service provider (ITSP) to get cheap/free calls overseas using your Internet connection.