Looking for help on QOS

Hello ALL!

Isn’t this stuff great!!?!

Well I am very new to this and I am very excited about Asterisk, PBXiaF and the whole technology.

I am looking for some guidance/support/help on setting up a reliable system in my small home office.

My original set up which I tested for a while:
Power Spec Intel Celeron D 3.3 w/ 1 GB Ram
On board NIC (10/100)
Linksys WRT54G Router with the QOS set to High on the physical port of the * box.
It was running TrixBox
Voice Pulse IAX trunks over Comcast Cable

I had a couple phones hooked up and it worked really good.

Then I went way on a trip and while gone the HDD failed… (and so it all begins)

While away (2 month biz trip) I spoke to the person who introduced me to * in depth. I ordered some new hardware in hopes to set up the my * system when I returned to be a good and reliable sustem for my business.

Shortly after I got back PBXiaF was released so I decided I would try that when I reloaded everything. I also figured it would be a good time to upgrade the network stuff.

So I set up PBXiaF on:
HP P4 2.6 G w/ 1.5G Ram
I installed a generic gig nic card (instead of on board 10/100)

( also changed the nic card and HDD on the PS box I was using before. I upgraded the pile of hubs and switches I had to:

Cat 6 cables (where Gig was supported)
Linksys SRW2016 Managed Switch
Linksys RV042 Router

And then the fun began…

I started having poor quality issues. It turns out that Comcast needs another node in my area (took them a cpl weeks to figure that out and replace all my new cable in office). I know that cable shares BW but in peak hours it dropped to 120k range.

So they tracked down the issue (keep in mind I am on a Static IP Commercial Line that at one time gave me good BW ~15mbps/~2mbps down max & ~5-6mbs/down ~768k/up min). Anyway… they could not resolve this until the week of 12/3/07. So with a month still ahead of me like this I ordered a DSL line from verizon.