Installing a Linux system for Asterisk & File Server

I’m completely a Newbie.
I have some parts lying around which I want to make a system for Asterisk and also a file server for my movies
a) Asus P5PE-VM motherboard
b) Pentium D 805 2.66GHz
c) 1Gb DDR ram
d) 160GB HDD for OS
e) 2x Sillicon Image 3114 SATA pci adapters
e) Linksys PAP2 voip adapter

4 systems + 2 laptops (WinXP) + xbox must be able to access the files in the server.
Asterisk needed to create and connect phones in various locations in and out of the country.

Which Linux should I install? hopefully I can install Linux with desktop interface like Xandros.

I’ve 8 x hdds in NTFS fully loaded need to be installed into the system. Can I just plug them in without deleting the files inside it?

I need someone to give me a head start. Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance.

Not a ton of help here on the Asterisk side since I’m a noob here as well.

If you’re looking to have this central server “stream content” to the pc’s as well as the xbox etc. take a look at the tversity project http://www.tversity.com/home . Best part is it’s free, the bad part is it doesn’t run on Linux (runs on XP or Windows 2000 only). It is able to stream content and transcode on the fly (i.e. change the format to an acceptable one on the device it is streaming too). You could, in theory, then run Asterisk in a VM (virtual machine) for the telephony side. Keep in mind transcoding is very CPU intensive, so I really wouldn’t recommend doing that. Best case scenario is run two separate machines, one for Asterisk and one for the media server.

As far as your hdd with NTFS, you are in luck. Linux can read/write them so you should be fine, for more details look here: http://www.ntfs-3g.org/