I'm not sure if I'm doing the correct thing - help please

First, let me start by saying I am not an Asterisk expert, but am looking for expert advise.

I’ve written a web app that is at its core a php/html form. When the form is submitted it calls a php file that does lots of different things. Amongst the various things that it does is use php’s system command to echo contents into a call file then touch the file with a timestamp in the future, and places it in the asterisk outgoing directory:

system(“echo ‘Channel: sip/myprovider/phone_number
Maxretries: 5
Retrytime: 300
Context: context_name
Extension: h
Priority: 1
Waittime: 40’ >> /location/of/call/files/context_name.call”);

the script also does something similar by using php’s system command to echo contents at the end of extensions.conf:

system("/bin/echo ‘context_name]
exten => h,1,Wait(1)
exten => h,n,Answer
exten => h,n,Set(TIMEOUT(digit)=5)
exten => h,n,Set(TIMEOUT(response)=10)
exten => h,n,Playback(context_name)
exten => h,n,Hangup’ >> /etc/asterisk/extensions.conf");

The script also creates the sound file needed, reloads the dialplan and a million other things.

My question isn’t a matter of “will this work?” b/c I know it works, I’ve tested it. My question is, do you think this is bad practice? Is there a better way to do what I’m trying? I’m not sure exactly how much cpu it is taking each time I submit the form, etc etc etc

If I need to clarify more clearly what I’m asking, let me know…thought I’d start with that explanation in the hopes that it would be enough.

if i understand this, every time someone hits the form, it goes through a bunch of steps that leads to, amongst things, modifying and therefore reloading the dial plan. as you say, this works …but i suppose this depends on how busy this is planned to become. this is not going to scale well at all.