How to generate call to a mobile using asterisk

Hi
I am a college student and a complete newbie to asterisk.
I’m currently working on a project ‘email to voice call’.
Using python i’v extracted the email & converted it into speech and saved in a WAV file.
Now using asterisk i want to generate call to the mobile of the user through my system.

I have read the book ‘Asterisk: The Future Of Telephony’ as suggested by many. But i’m still not able to understand what all things i need to setup to generate a call to mobile.
What i understood is that i need to configure two files i.e. sip.conf where i need to give the details of VoIP provider and extensions.conf for dial-plan. Asterisk will tell the VoIP provider to generate a call.

Now can anyone please tell me what things i need to setup other than these? Also can you help me in the configuration of these two files??

Please help. Any information will be appreciated.
Thank You.

if your a complete newbie, then that’s a lofty goal, i reccommend easing yourself in by creating 2 SIP phones in SIP.conf, then writing a dialplan for each to call each other.

so create this in SIP.conf as your user (assuming you have a good “general” context already defined)

[100]
type=friend
host=dynamic
dtmfmode=rfc2833
context=bouncy
disallow=all
allow=all
secret=password
nat=yes
canreinvite=no
registertrying=yes
Subscribecontext=hints
limitonpeer=yes
notifyringing=yes
notifyhold=yes
call-limit=99

then the same again for another extension (200?)

then create [bouncy] in extensions.conf, and put in: -

exten => _X.,n,NoOp(testing the bouncy context from my phone)
exten => _X.,n,Hangup()

Hook up your SIP phones (you can use a smartphone (c-sip simple?), or x-lite for the desktop)
then watch the CLI for the phones registering, then the noop when you dial any number with 2 digits or more for the text in the NoOp defined above. If you see it, then you’re ready to start tinkering :smile: