Flood Emergency System for Indigenous Communities with Asterisk?

Hi there!

I work for an NGO in Bolivia and I want to develop a flood emergency system to alert vulnerable indigenous communities In the area where this would be deployed the majority of the peasants don’t own smartphones, have trouble communicating through SMS and have little resources to pay for minutes.

I would like to implement a system in which a cell phone number is called, it subsequently hangs up on the caller so no minutes on the side of the caller are spent, but it triggers a new call to a contact associated with the first caller and then plays an audio message.

Is this something that Asterisk can do using a GSM gateway?

I am a complete noob with Asterisk but if the idea for the system is feasible, are there any resources that you can point me out so I can pull this off?

If I understand you correctly
user call your number, and you call the user back and play a message

this is just a quick and dirty and and unteste code that I have bashed together
when the user call in they will get disconnected and after 5s receive a call that will play CurrentWeather
if the user call in with unknown number or from an international number we will answer the call and play the message

;FloodEmergencyNumber = 1234
[incoming|
exten => 1234,1,Goto(FloodEmergency,s,1)

[FloodEmergency]
exten => s/_[6,7]XXXXXX,1,NoOp(Mobile ${CALLERID(num)}) ;callback allowed
exten => s/_[2-4]XXXXXX,1,NoOp(Province ${CALLERID(num)});callback allowed
exten => s/_5XXXXXX,1,NoOp(National ${CALLERID(num)});callback allowed
exten => s/_+591Z!,1,Set(CALLERID(num)=${CALLERID(num):4}) ; Bolivia E164 (strip +591);callback allowed
exten => s/_+Z!,1,Goto(FloodEmergencyAlert,s,1) ;no call back
exten => s/_00Z!,1,Goto(FloodEmergencyAlert,s,1) ;no call back
exten => s,1,Goto(FloodEmergencyAlert,s,1) ;no call back
same => n,Originate(Local/${CALLERID(num)}@FloodEmergencyCallBack,exten,FloodEmergencyAlert,s,1)