Existing Head Office Panasonic VOIP system vs. Site Offices

Hi Everyone,

I am still a newbie in the VOIP industry, and i am pursuing an idea that i have, i am not sure if it is applicable or not though, perhaps you experts can better assist me.

Scenario:

In our Head office, we have a panasonic IP PBX system, connected with 2 external phone lines. We have a DSL internet connection with dynamic IP address.

And then, we have our construction site offices, let us say 1 site office for now. We have an internet connection at this site office using the 3G routers which also has dynamic IP address.

What i want to do is the following:

Install 1 IP phone set in this site office, which via the 3G router can connect to our head office VOIP PBX, so we can reach this site office as an extension. Also this site office can access our phone lines to make external calls.

Of course, both our head office and site office modem routers have dynamic dns capabilities.

So what do you think, is my idea do-able? what kind of hardware/software do we need from asterisk or digium in order to achieve this?

Kindly advise,

Regards,
Majd

If you can set up a VPN between the two sites, it is doable.

Alternatively, but more difficult to secure, if the IP addresses, although dynamic, do not change, it is doable.

If you have the sort of ISP that deliberately changes IP addresses at regular intervals, you may have to restart everything when this happens.

Support questions should go in a forum with Support in its name!

OOPS! I overlooked the 3G router.

With 3g you have the bandwidth but the latency is just too much. we do have customers with phones connected to 3g routers but quality isnt great.

Hi Guys and thanks a lot for your responses.

If i am to do this without VPN, and since the IP is dynamic, i will use Dyndns.org.

What do i need in terms of hardware and software to achieve this?