ERROR[3155] chan_zap.c: Signalling must be specified

Hello there,

I am a newbie to Asterisk, but have spent quite a bit of time reading reference materials and scraping the web for answers, and so far I can’t get past this error, so I was hoping I could find some help here.

Basically, I am running the AsteriskNOW appliance:

OS Version:
Linux srp-techserv.nrmdomain.com 2.6.22.13-0.1.gcc3.4.x86.i686 #1 Mon Nov 19 19:39:41 EST 2007 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux

Asterisk Build:
Asterisk 1.4.18.1
Asterisk GUI-version Revision: SVN-branches_asterisknow+r2546

Attached to the system is a Digium card with 4 FXO ports (I don’t know the specific model number), and I’ve attached a phone line to the first port in the card (and I’ve tried the other three). I am simply, at this point, trying to get Asterisk to answer the call, but all I get is endless ringing.

When the server boots, I get this error in the log:

ERROR[2336] chan_zap.c: Signalling must be specified before any channels are.

I believe that is at least one of my problems.

Here are my config files:

zaptel_guiRead.conf:

[general]
fxsks=1,2,3,4
loadzone=us
defaultzone=us

In all of my researching, I have not heard any mention of the file zaptel_guiRead.conf, but this was created by the AsteriskNOW install, so I assumed it was just a replacement for zaptel.conf…but at a loss of what to do, I have also created zaptel.conf which is exactly the same as zaptel_guiRead.conf

zapata.conf:

[general]
loadzone=us
defaultzone=us

[channels]
usecallerid=yes
hidecallerid=no
callwaiting=no
threewaycalling=yes
transfer=yes
echocancel=yes
echotraining=yes
context=incoming
signaling=fxs_ks
channel=1-4

I have also tried using the same config lines for [channels] for each separate channel, such as:

usecallerid=yes
hidecallerid=no
callwaiting=no
threewaycalling=yes
transfer=yes
echocancel=yes
echotraining=yes
context=incoming
signaling=fxs_ks
channel=1

usecallerid=yes
hidecallerid=no
callwaiting=no
threewaycalling=yes
transfer=yes