Distribute calls between two internet connections

Hi all,

I have a customer who would require two internet connections in order to handle the volume of outbound calls they plan to make.

Connecting the two ADSL routers to the network is no problem, but how do I tell asterisk to either:

1. alternate outbound calls between the two routers or
  2. use one router for half the staff, and the other for the remaining half

Inbound calls is not a problem as they are primarily an outbound-only business.

Thanks for any input
Matt

1. manipulate a global variable, with appropriate locking (I have no experience of locking in dialplans);

2. hash the callerid to compute the outgoing trunk.

Hi David,

Thanks for the reply (again) :smile:

I can understand how to do it at dialplan level, but at IAX.conf level how do I specify that one channel should use one router, and the other channel the other router?

For example in my IAX.conf I would have two outbound trunks (both from the same provider):

[gradwell-trunk1]
type=peer
username=company123
secret=secret123
host=iax-lb.gradwell.net

[gradwell-trunk2]
type=peer
username=company456
secret=secret456
host=iax-lb.gradwell.net

How do I tell * that one trunk should route over gateway 192.168.1.10 and the other over 192.168.1.20?

Thanks
Matt

You didn’t say they were the same address.

The easiest solution is not to do anything in Asterisk, but to use one router with multiple physical level connections (well, actually, the easiest is to use one fast link), all load sharing traffic for the same address. If you are likely to saturate an ADSL connection with VoIP, you need to be talking to your ISP, anyway.

Otherwise, you may be able to bind the two trunks to different local virtual interfaces. The solution is likely to require detailed OS knowledge and router knowledge, rather more than Asterisk knowledge.

Hi