Developers needed for an asterisk project

Hi

I’m not a developer. Our organization has conducted a thorough cost comparison for different hosted PBX providers. I recently came across Asterisk and after reading more I sense there is an approach which we ought to also explore in having a solution built and configured for us.

I would appreciate some guidance with the following questions:
1- Can anyone direct us to developers or teams which have experience in deploying a solution using Asterisk?
2- Kindly comment on what budget (deployment and maintenance) we should expect to have a solution done?
3- What common drawbacks exist when pursuing this route?

Again, help is sincerely appreciated and pardon the lack of developer background.

There would need to be several long discussions to develop something for your specific interest. Since you’re not a developer, you may want to look at something like FreePBX. It’s asterisk-based and comes with a user interface already built. I wouldn’t use it for a large-scale project since it doesn’t offer failover, replication, or use a database, though I know some larger scale projects that have/do used it. Though you can add some customization, you’re still locked in to a vendor which can be good or bad.

So:

1. You should be able to find companies through a google search or individuals through a recruiter.
  2. That would very much depend on the scale of the project. I’m currently converting about 5000 phones to Asterisk and with new PRI hardware, servers, cabling, phones, and other equipment. My budget was about $600,000 which was half of proprietary vendors.
  3. Support. You’ll need someone to become an administrator of the system if you want to manage it in-house, make changes, or add features.
1 Like

Thanks for the reply and I welcome any other replies as well.