Confused about set-up: PBX + 4 Analog Trunk Lines

OK, I’m new to this, so I may get some things wrong, so bare with me. We’re a small office (around 15 people, give or take). Our current phone system is a small, 13 (?) year old computer running OS/2. As near as I can tell, from my limited education on this topic this past week, we have 4 analog trunk lines coming in and approx. 40 numbers assigned to us (so people can call individual telephones directly). Our current system only has the 4 trunk lines going in (2 physical wires, each with 2 lines) to the old OS/2 box; aside from that it is completely disconnected. I’ve decided to take it upon myself to replace this old server with a new one running Asterisk (already have the server set up with Asterisk installed, though no ATA h/w at all). However, I’m still confused as to how to set this up.

I’m confused as to how the switching works. If a call comes in, how does it get routed to the phone? Is the OS/2 box responsible for routing calls to the appropriate phone? If so, I take it this is done over these 4 lines, which means there is some piece of hardware I have not accounted for (there is a smallish box the size of a small hardcover book we have from Bell that has some lines going into it - labeled S9M). Further, if this is the case, how do I set this up in Asterisk? I keep seeing guides that would use a 24-port FXS to handle the switching which, if the old OS/2 box is currently handling the switching, would seem unnecessary here. Also, I keep seeing set ups for switching based on extensions, though we use direct numbers. I assumed the system handles these too, but I am unsure how to configure this in Asterisk.

The other option here is that this OS/2 box is doing far less than it would seem: no switching, just the auto-attendant for our “main” phone number… Or that the routing is handled else where, but this box can still “see” the calls.

Also, what would you suggest for a 4 port FXO?