Business owner wants to replace PBX system

Searched through old “newbie” posts and this one seems close. forums.digium.com/viewtopic.php? … wbie+guide Except the answers require a deeper understand than I currently have.

I’m a small business owner and want to replace my PBX system with something computer based. don’t like having the ‘black box’ in the back requiring high priced technicians to service or change.

I have 6 telephone lines (hunting) and a dedicated fax/credit card machine line comming in and 8 actual phones. Every work station has a networked computer. I have DSL on the dedicated fax line with a router.

My thoughts are: can I get a computer with a card that will accept the 7 incomming lines and has software that will send the incommings calls to all the workstations. This system needs to allow each workstation to place outgoing calls. In short I need the functionality of my current PBX and the added features of a computer based system.

What questions should I be asking?
What direction should I be going?
Is there someone I can buy this stuff from?
and what stuff should I buy?
and etc…?

thanks for any help…

I recommend having a look at this book:

voip-info.org/wiki/view/Aste … +Telephony

You should have a look at asteriskathome.sourceforge.net, great from home use as well as an SMB such as yourself.

Digium (digium.com) offers a business edition here:

digium.com/index.php?menu=pr … roduct=ABE

Various solution providers:

fonality.com/
asterisk-configuration.xorcom.com/

Various system vendors:

voip-info.org/wiki/view/Aste … em+vendors

It would be best to plan a roll-out in phases based on your requirement and ability to leverage your existing PBX in the meantime. I would recommend starting with a software only implementation (ie - with Asterisk@Home linked above) and then work your way into a full system from there.

All you need to get started is an old PC.

I could go on and on…
:wink: