BRI ISDN2e

This is my first post. I am a complete newbie with just enough knowledge to be dangerous.
I want to design a small system for use by voluntary-sector helplines. I have read what other people are doing and realise that I might be finding myself ploughing a lonely furrow.
Having looked at the options, ISND2e is the way to go for this application. Unfortunately this is very much a European thing (Germany in particular). So rather limited help from US books and no hardware support from Digium.
What I would like to do is have an Asterisk server with 2 or 3 ISDN2e ports and another server for office applications. There would be four or more workstations (thin clients?) with USB headsets and/or handsets. All telephone operation will be by mouse and keyboard. Thus telephone audio will have to be converted from ISDN a-law to ?? for transmission over Ethernet, then to USB; and of course the reverse. The ?? bit must not result in any loss of quality.
My first problem is the ISDN card(s). A 4-port one can cost more than the rest of the server and I am not at all clear what it will actually do. As server CPU power is cheap, can I use a passive card? Data sheets all seem to be colour leaflets telling you that the product will do wonderful things without telling you the limitations.
Has anyone ever done something like this before? Can anyone offer any advice about cards? Does anyone want to say that it cannot be done?

never done this and I don’t live in europe…

No idea about ISDN2e, but from what i can tell it might just be a brand name for EuroISDN or something.

For your users, no need for USB. Get standard headsets and plug them into the computer’s sound cards. Then find a good softphone program (maybe invest in xten or use sjphone or whatever works), there are tons of them.