Beginner to Asterisk

H Sir,

I am new to Asterisk, My requirement is from the beginning

My Requirement

Need to install Asterisk on CentOS
Format for outgoing calls
Need to track all the outgoing calls in terms of call duration and all other MIS requirements

Please, Could anybody help me in getting a step by step process on the above.

Thanks in Advance

Thanks,
Satish Kumar

Generally, if you need step by step instructions, you need to pay a consultant. The forum for making such requests in the Jobs forum.

If you are not familiar with Asterisk I would personally download one of the Centos based ISO distributions. Have a look at FreePBX (they have a Centos based image) and PBX in a Flash which is also Centos based. PBX in a Flash 2.0.6.2 is Centos 6.2 based and there are both 32-bit and 64-bit images that you can download and simply install from scratch on a bare server.

My own view is that any GUI based system is best used as a productivity aid by someone who understands what the GUI is doing, rather than as an alternative to understanding what is happening.

In any case, I don’t think any of the referenced packages attack the call accounting requirements.

Both of those distributions include CDR reporting. There is not specific call accounting (costing) mentioned above. CDR reporting will indicate call durations and who called who (call volumes, etc). If call accounting is required there are other addons that can provide these.

I’m quite happy to see more people running Asterisk even if most of it is through a GUI (in this world of Windows most people only know using a GUI). I’d strongly suggest having another system to play with though so that whilst you are reading “Asterisk: The definitive guide” (downloadable as a free PDF file) they have something to have a go with.

It can also be very instructive to use the GUI and then examine the dial plan created to see how it all works as well.

Hi All,

Thanks for your replies.