Asterix with Lync 2013

Hi

First off I would like to state that I know absolutely nothing about Asterisk or Voice as a topic really. I have been learning this for only 3 days.

I have been challenged with learning Lync for work. My background is Exchange. The whole Lync / Voice thing is all new so any help please can you explain in a way an idiot would understand? thanks

So the problem. In short I cannot get Lync to accept calls coming over SIP from the PSTN. It just doesn’t accept the call. After hours and hours of testing and trying I think it is because the number coming from the PSTN over my SIP providers trunk does not conform to e.164.

Reason I think this is because of the following

1. I can place a call to the PSTN from Lync through the SIP trunk to my Asterisk Gateway and then over another SIP trunk to my SIP Provider, works great

2. From a softphone connected to Asterisk I can also dial out to PSTN via the provider SIP trunk

3. From the softphone I can call Lync using both standard UK number format i.e area code + subscriber number and by using the e.164 format +44 area code + subscriber number works fine

On my SIP trunk to lync I have a manipulation rule set so that any number that is 11 digits strip the prefix 0 and add +44 to make it e.164 complaint. This works as point 3 above would not work unless the dialer explicitly defined e.164.

I have an inbound rule that accepts and DID any CID to forward to the Lync SIP Trunk

From the CDR logs I can see my dialer’s number in plain format i.e area code + subscriber number with a destination of tdial set to destination SIP/Lync with a result of failed 0s.

I think numbers coming in from a PSTN source or from my SIP provider is somehow not being manipulated into an e.164 number. Lync will not do the conversion for me, it has to be the gateway.