Asterix and Intel Boards

Hi, I’m new to this, but i have seen some Intel DMN160TEC and DMT160TEC boards, apparently they are capable of up to 16 spans or 480 ports.
The cards have both T1 and E1 support, and can run multiple ISDN protocls or CAS protocols simultaneously, i also read that the so-called “Business edtion” of asterisk has added support for intel boards, but i couldn’t find WHICH boards it added support for, and i’d rather not buy a $1k OS if i can help it, as the cards are going to set me back quite a bit on their own.
My end implementation will support close to 450 phones(with a possibility of another 50-100 later on)

Dream System:
12U CompactPCI Chassis
2 x CompactPCI CPU Cards(bout 2.0GHZ each)(these are supposed to be able to access the cards as though they were regular pci)
2(possibly 3) x DMN160TEC or DMT160TEC

I am open to suggestions for Digium hardware, as long as i am able to have MANY ports in my system, as i still have to achieve 450 lines/ports…
Although, this will only be the total number of internal extensions, perhaps a better number would be for half that, 225 in/out lines… as not everyone will be on the phone at once.(hotel situation)

What are the maximum lines for Digium cards? i see 4 ports, is that 4 lines?(Like i say, a total newbie)

I can’t really answer your questions, but you’re going to need to do a lot of reading if you’ve got any hope of getting a system like that up and running. Start with this book:

voip-info.org/wiki/view/Aste … +Telephony

It’s free for downloading, but as you’re using it for a commercial purpose, it would be a good idea to buy a copy and support the author and publisher and help ensure the next edition can come out.

You’ll find a vast amount of documentation on this site:

voip-info.org/wiki/view/Asterisk

including, probably, answers to your questions.

Alrighty, i’m taking a peek at the book right now,…

Ok, a simpler question then :smiley: