Asterisk Event based Trigger/Action Addon

I’ve been working with asterisk for about a month now so i’m not an expert or anything, so let me know if i’m missing something or if this has been discussed or if this already exists. But after trying to integrate asterisk i’ve come to the conclusion that the events system is very lmiting in terms of ease of integration. While it is true that it’s possible to telnet into the AMI and execute Actions and wait for responses or even just sit and monitor events the parsing of events and response are all the responsibility of the programmer trying to integrate with asterisk. Why is this? Why should a 3rd party developer have to parse events just to understand the events. I understand that this gives great flexibility to anyone developing for asterisk as asterisk just dumps raw data, but this seems unnecessary for the vast majority of developers who are just trying to integrate asterisk in a simple manor. I believe that both worlds can and should be accomplished for asterisk to grow further.